Meet Historical Romance Author Lynn Hubbard


Chase The Moon book cover

Chase The Moon by Lynn Hubbard. Now on sale at Amazon.com

Way back in the 19th century, when buffalo and cowboys still roamed the plains, when bare-chested men and petticoat-bound women looked to each other for love and passion, very few people were taking notes … or keeping score.

Enter author Lynn Hubbard. Lynn brings those bygone days of white-hot passion, snappy dialogue and humorous circumstances back to life in a series of historical romance novels. She released her latest (and fourth) novel,  Chase the Moon, on September 25th. It is now available for sale on Amazon.

(Ladies, you best have a fan handy to shield your blushing cheeks from pryin’ eyes and to keep you from swooning from all the excitement. A little smellin’ salts wouldn’t hurt, either.)

Now, before you click on the book cover above to scarf up your own copy of Lynn’s newest book, I suggest you set a spell as we interview the very gal whose moving words bring the old west back to life with such gusto!   

 Lynn, what got you started writing historical romance novels?

I didn’t really pick romance, it just happened. I Love History and wanted to make it more colorful.

What do you find most compelling about this particular genre, or, in other words, why didn’t you choose to set your books in the present or the future?

My books always start with a character and I build a world around them. I do not always write westerns, my YA is set in Ohio in 1959 and I’m currently working on novel set in 1776. Great year!

What’s your writing process and how long, on average, does it take you to write a book?

I can’t write on a schedule. I have to be inspired, It takes me about a year to write a book. Of course that is while I was working full time, and running my publishing co.

Who are your core readers? Could you tell us a little bit about them and what they find most appealing about your books?

My fans love my books for the escapism. I take them into another time, a nice break from reality. Kind of like a refreshing vacation. In fact, so many of them fell in love with Chase’s bit part in RITW they begged me to write a sequel.

Your latest novel, Chase the Moon, is set in late 1800s Mississippi. How did you research the book and what made you pick that particular setting?

Chase the Moon is a follow up to my book Run into the Wind. Poor Chase had no other choice than to travel to Mississippi, Sabrina would have killed him if he hadn’t. I live in the south, I LOVE the south, it is so RICH in history. Every road, every building tells a tale. I did most of my research online. It is difficult writing about the past. Even if you visit there today, it is not going to be the same visually as it was back then.

What were your biggest challenges in writing Chase the Moon?

It is much, much harder to write a sequel than an original book. You have to make sure everything is the same as in the first book. I work with many characters and develop a background story for each of them. To make them real. Therefore, I was constantly rechecking eye color, horse’s names, attitudes, etc., to make sure they were consistent.

Do you have a special passage from the book? What makes it special for you and would you please share it with us here?

I have a twisted sense of humor and like to instill that on my poor characters. This is one of my favorite scenes.

Chase was somewhere between consciousness and sleep. His eyes drifted shut as he finally relaxed to the swaying sensation of the train. After all the travel and bustling about it was nice to finally unwind.

His peace was interrupted by a droning sound. The resonance could be heard over and over again above the clank of the wheels. Ever alert, he slowly lifted an eyelid. He gazed around the car to see if anyone else had heard the odd noises coming from the doorway. They had not. Aggravated not a soul seemed to notice the eerie sounds he climbed sleepily to his feet and opened up the inner door. Grabbing the swaying wall for support he stepped up to the outer door.

He was startled to find a white, ghastly face peering in through the small square window. An eerie howl arose from its mouth and a chill stole through him. The whipping hair reminded him of a childhood legend his mother used to tell him about: It was a banshee. Had he angered the Gods somehow?

An amazingly human like hand smacked the glass in front of him and he quickly wiped the sleep from his eyes. Taking a brave step forward he unlatched the door and the beast was upon him. He instinctively grabbed it and wrestled it to the ground as his family scrabbled over to see the disturbance.

“Are you insane?” It screeched in an unearthly voice. Chase felt a sudden pain in his ear as his mother quickly summed up the situation and twisted. With a yowl, he was forced off the creature so that his ear would remain intact. He watched in slow motion as Thomas and Jaelyn hurried over to help it up to its feet.

What writers have influenced you the most in your career?

If I had to pick a writer, It would be Kennesaw Taylor. Kennesaw is always running at full speed and encouraging me to get out there and write, write, write. He writes non-fiction as do many of my other writer friends.

What made you decide to go the “indie” route in publishing your work?

LOL! Good question, I never spent much time trying to break into the “Publishing World”. I did some research and sent out 4-5 queries to agents. All of which came back saying, “We are no longer accepting new clients.” So I first self published through one of the free automated services. Then I ran across a book called Aiming for Amazon by Aaron Shepard and it changed my life and my entire view of the publishing world. It had instructions on how to make your own PUBLISHING COMPANY. So I did, and Lemon Press was born.

What book marketing endeavors have you found to be the most successful?

I am totally obsessed with bookmarks. Online it would have to be ads at Night Owl Reviews, they have a large following and are always very supportive to indies. Of course I love my local bookstores who carry my books and encourage me (The Bookworm and The Bookshelter)

What valuable lessons have you learned about book marketing that you could share with other writers?

Free will only get you so far. I read somewhere that writing the book is 10%, editing the book is 30% and marketing the book is 60%. My favorite freebie is free book giveaways at Goodreads I have two of mine currently listed.

What haven’t I asked you about that you’d like to share?

I just wanted to say that this has been an amazing ride so far and I look forward to choosing my own path for the future!

Thank you for visiting and letting us get to know you better!


					
1 Comment

Filed under Historical Romance, New Releases

One response to “Meet Historical Romance Author Lynn Hubbard

  1. Great interview from both of you. The secret here, Lynn inspires me more than she thinks I inspire her. While reading her books you don’t have a care in the world and that’s a good thing.

Leave a Reply

